Sunday, October 7, 2007

2007 Ig Nobel Prize Winners

2007 Ig Nobel Prize Winners

"For achievements that first make people LAUGH, then make them THINK"

A selection of this year's winners:
L. Mahadevan and Enrique Cerda Villablanca, for studying how sheets
become wrinkled.
Prof. Dr. Johanna E.M.H. van Bronswijk, for doing a census of all the
mites, insects, spiders, pseudoscorpions, crustaceans, bacteria, algae,
ferns and fungi with whom we share our beds each night.
Mayu Yamamoto, for developing a way to extract vanillin -- vanilla
fragrance and flavoring -- from cow dung.
Glenda Browne, for her study of the word "the" -- and of the many ways
it causes problems for anyone who tries to put things into alphabetical
Brian Wansink, for exploring the seemingly boundless appetites of human
beings, by feeding them with a self-refilling, bottomless bowl of soup.